Czech-American Marriage

My blogging bud Tanja has graciously graced my inbox with her story of being a Czech woman and married to an American guy. And if you haven’t gone to her site yet.. do so! Feel free to read my guest post on her blog aboutbeing married to a Czech guy.

Thank you for the guest post Tanja! 🙂

How is it to be married to an American husband

It’s great. I love it. But I have a feeling that I am just married to a great person, regardless of his nationality. First of all, I really admire the fact how he had tackled the Czech language when we were first married. We could not find any Czech course in our neighborhood at that time so he had secretly enrolled in a self-paced program at our local college. Not only was the course taught by a Russian but the textbook was type-written and published in 1968. Most of the Czech phrases he was memorizing are not even being used anymore! But he tried…
My husband has a great sense of humor! I call it the Czech-style humor: quick, witty, off-the-wall but it can be hurtful at times. Therefore our rule is “handle Czech humor with care”. Anyways, he makes jokes about me loving potatoes so much, he calls me Half-Czech-half-potato and sings me songs such as “One potato, two potatoes, three potatoes, four…”. Just to give him back on one of these “potato” days I would serve him Bramborak for dinner as punishment. That brings me to my cooking. My husband loves my cooking, he thinks I have a great talent. He says that my dream menu for him would be Potato smoothie for breakfast, for lunch Potato sandwich and for dinner Potato mignon. Every time I get the Czech food cravings and I whip something VERY ethnic in the kitchen, like Prune dumplings for dinner (it is very un-American to have a sweet dinner course), he patiently eats it all.
Being married to an American made me realize that stereotypes don’t exist. Before I came to America I thought that young American guys were good-looking (my friend and I would used to call them “thick-necked”) but kind of dumb. But after I spent some time living here I realized that guys here are like everywhere else: some are dumb and some are smart; some are cute and some are not. Lot of them actually do (like my husband) love history and culture.
Also, he is not pessimistic and critical as lot of Czechs/Europeans can be. He does get critical at times but it is still nothing compared to what I was used to when I was growing up in Czech. In fact, sometimes, when my husband gets negative, I jokingly ask him: “Are you Czech?” or “Who is the Czech in this family?”

4 thoughts on “Czech-American Marriage

  1. Hhaha, yes, I never heard the term “American Optimism” with such prevalence until I met my girlfriend. I don’t think American’s are without depression, fears, or negative thoughts but I often try to give encouraging support and I get reminded of it.

  2. it is great to be in a Czech-American marriage – the marital unit is perfectly balanced that way!! You get the never-trusting, it-all-sucks attitude from the Czech side and the never-giving-up, there-is-always-hope attitude from the American side :))

  3. Tanja, I couldn’t agree with you more.
    I always see the dark side in things. I never really realized that that’s the Czech in me. I thought it was just my personality. I’m off now to show this to my American hubby (who by the way loves Czech food and beer, but does get sick of eating potatoes after about 3 days at my mom’s house back home)!!!

Leave a Reply

