Running to catch up

Many things have gone on lately that I’m running to play catch up. First off.. I’m a great-aunt for the 3rd time. My niece just had her second baby, which babies are wonderful, but how they come about is sometimes disappointing. Unfortunately I forgot to ask the baby’s name. They don’t call me great aunt for nothing!
I also started my own business for website marketing and I know it’s only a matter of time before it really takes off. Have you ever had that feeling that something is just boiling and it’s about to blow? I got that.. except unlike Vesuvius, I don’t plan on destroying Pompeii or Herculaneum.

Also.. just a quick thought I had the other day. If a 2 year old falls and no one is around.. does it hurt?

I’ve always been interested in linguistics.. probably why I like My Fair Lady so much. So when I came across this link Essentialist Explanations (via Metafilter), I was excited to see so many quotes about so many languages. Of course the ones referencing Czech are listed.

Polish is essentially Czech spoken under the shower by a couple that is unable to choose between fighting and making love.
–Jan van Steenbergen

Czech is essentially Slovak as spoken by a German.
–John Cowan

Conversely, Slovak is essentially Czech as spoken by a Hungarian.
–John Cowan

Czech is essentially Russian with beer instead of vodka.
–Andreas Johansson

One thought on “Running to catch up

Leave a Reply

