Nicknames

For the first year me and my hubby were dating, he rarely called me by my first name. He would only address me as “baby”. So much so, that his friends called me baby because they thought that was my name. No one but him spoke English so they had no idea that it was a term of endearment. Only one guy (Stupid Michael) still calls me baby, and he does that because he knows I find it so cute.

In Czech there are a lot of guys named Petr (Peter), Michal (Michael), Martin, Pavel (Paul), and Milan. Of course there’s a lot of other names as well, but I’ve found these to be the most common amongst our friends. So in order to remember them all and who we’re discussing… they’ve all developed nicknames.
There’s Stupid Michael (not necessarily stupid but not too swift), BF Michael (best friend), and Stoned Michael (obvious). Then there’s Muscle Paul and Cute Paul. The Martin’s get actual nicknames like Rozo and Kozel (which means goat because the guys say he looks like one). As for the Petrs… there’s Peter Mazda, Peter-Kathy, Peter No-problem (the only thing he knew in English was how to say “no problem!”). Then there’s Smiley, guess why we call him that? Even when he almost had his leg chopped off due to a sawing accident.. he had a big grin on his face.
My husband’s nickname is CD. Whats yours?

4 thoughts on “Nicknames

  1. I don’t like nicknames. I think I got it from Mommy Dearest.

    When I was 13 I wanted to be Angy (to fit in), but now if anyone tries to call me Angie I pretend they aren’t talking to me.

    That’s why Evan is Evan and not Christopher or Michael. I didn’t want a name people could shorten.

  2. Some of my peeps call me Carmie, but you knew that already. Luckily there aren’t too many Carmens around here, so that I’m not labeled something like Stupid Carmen in my friends’ households. 😛

Leave a Reply

